Pie Are Square

I credit our parents with the development of Maia and my math-y minds (she’s getting her PhD in math, I’m in physics). They refused to let us buy into the mysticism and stigma associated with math, introducing us to the basic geometry and algebra concepts at very young ages. I remember many dinnertime jokes involving puns off a certain equation for the area of a circle.

What I’m trying to say, I guess, is on a scale from one to nerd, we’re off the charts.

Maybe that’s is why I’m so drawn to the idea of the gallette (free form pie, really). I can actually make a square pie and bring it to the table, snickering all the way.

I was reminded of the existence of these rustic pies from Elise’s recent post, and couldn’t resist. Like math, pie dough has a certain mystique associated with it.. as if only the truly talented can make a decent dough, and the rest of us should stick with store bought.

This being my first attempt at dough, I decided do a little research into recipes. Everyone claims to have the perfect, fool proof pie dough, so I was a little skeptical going in. I should have known that Dorie Greenspan would having the winning dough.

An all butter dough with a touch of corn meal, this dough can hold up with juicy, loose fillings without the aid of a pie pan. It’s a cinch to make with a food processor, and pretty forgiving in general. (I made it twice this week with a few differences, and it was fantastic both times.)

I improvised the filling ’cause I couldn’t find any using fresh bing cherries. It was well received by all. Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures of the pie to share, it was gobbled up as soon as it came out of the oven.

Gallette Pie Crust
Adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking With Julia

1 c flour
1/4 c corn meal
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
7 tbs cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
2 tbs sour cream (or yogurt or buttermilk)
1/4 c ice water

In a food processor, blend flour, corn meal, sugar and salt to blend. Dump in butter and pulse until mixture resembles a coarse meal with pieces up to pea size.

Mix sour cream into ice water. With food processor running, slowly pour in sour cream mixture until dough comes together into soft, moist clumps. You probably won’t need all of the liquid (I used just over half of it).

Shape dough into a ball and press into a disc. Wrap in saran and chill in the fridge for atleast 2 hours.

Cherry Gallette

1 gallette dough
1 lb fresh bing cherries, pitted
1 tbs grand marnier or other liquor
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 c sugar
3 tbs corn starch
1/3 c water

In large saucepan, combine cherries, liquor, vanilla and sugar. Heat over medium, stirring often, until sugar has dissoved and cherries are soft and have released some moisture.

Mix corn starch with water. Add solution to pan with cherries and heat, stirring, until most moisture has evaporated or congealed. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 400. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Roll out gallette dough to 1/8″ thick and place on parchment. Mound cherries on in the center of dough, leaving 2-3″ on the edges. Fold the edges of the dough over the filling. The dough will pleat prettily, go with it. Brush dough with water and sprinkle with sugar if desired. Bake 35-40 minutes, until dough is golden.

Enjoy!

One Comment

  1. Posted January 2, 2013 at 10:02 am | Permalink

    I am truly grateful to the owner of this site who has shared this impressive piece of
    writing at here.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] we made dessert as a team. F, now officially the baker of the family, made us some galette dough during a break in his bread baking. (I found this recipe via Smitten Kitchen, which I love). Then […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

