A milk chocolate microwave miracle

I love chocolate, especially super dark, super rich chocolate. I’ve been known to eat 85% Lindt out of hand. So why, then, am I posting about milk chocolate? Inspired by Michel Richard and Gourmet, I decided to give milk chocolate a try. And while you won’t find me replacing my daily nibble snapped from a cold bar of Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Ritter Sport with any milk chocolate variety, I’ve come to terms with the fact that milk chocolate, too, has its place in the world of chocolate.

Milk Chocolate Pudding

For their February issue, Gourmet assembled a team of chocaholics to sample and rate 25 milk chocolates. I’ve been avoiding milk chocolate for years, since every time I have a little nibble it just tastes like waxy condensed milk, probably because I would never choose milk chocolate over dark chocolate in the store, so the bits that I have sampled always come in the form of foil-wrapped holiday novelty candy, destined to be a far, far cry from what milk chocolate could be. After reading the swoons of creamy, smooth, vanilla, and caramel finish, I made a mental note to try some real milk chocolate soon.

Last night, Henning and I were invited for dinner at my parents place. Usually this involves my mom and I doing some menu planning via email the day before and then spending a few hours in the kitchen together, chopping and chatting. The menu planning happened as usual, but Thursday afternoon I started to feel very sick. I had a fever, chills, and my lungs had that burning sensation that happens when you breathe air that is far too cold, but it’s 68 degrees here in San Diego. After barely making it through the computer lab sessions that I teach Thursday afternoons, I collapsed on the couch under a down comforter while Henning prepared dinner. The rest of the night and all of Friday was absolutely miserable, and when we showed up at my parents house in the late afternoon, my mom took one look at me and said I was not allowed to enter the kitchen to help prepare the Mexican feast that we had planned. We hadn’t picked a dessert yet, and she suggested Michel Richard’s Happy Kid Pudding, since it was done in the microwave in under 7 minutes and wouldn’t require my help. It called for milk chocolate, so I pulled up Gourmet’s list to write down the top few. We ended up using Lindt Excellence, since that’s the one the market down the street carries.

While I laid on the couch watching one dvr’d Barefoot Contessa episode after another, and going through kleenex at an alarming rate, my Mother slaved away making carnitas tacos, ceviche, locro de papas, and a blood-orange and jicama salad. The pudding came together in no time at all, and my mom and I both thought it was a miracle that you could microwave egg yolks like that and not have them scramble. The resulting pudding was smooth and delicious, with a light, milky, creamy chocolate flavor. I have to admit, it was a nice change of pace from my usual dark chocolate. The pudding is sweetened with honey, and the subtle floral sweetness pairs well with the milky chocolate. Smooth, cool, and soothing, it was just the comfort food I needed.

Happy Kid Pudding
from Happy in the Kitchen, by Michel Richard

2 cups whole milk
4 large egg yolks
2 tbs cornstarch
1/2 cup honey
4 oz milk chocolate, cut into 1/4 inch pieces

Combine the milk, yolks, cornstarch, and honey in a large microwave-safe bowl. Whisk until the cornstarch and honey have dissolved. Stir in the chocolate. Put the bowl in the microwave and microwave on high for 2 minutes. Remove and whisk well, then return and microwave another 2 minutes. Remove and whisk again. The chocolate should be melted. Return to the microwave and cook another 2 minutes. Whisk again. If the pudding has not come to a biol, or isn’t thick enough, return for 1 more minute. The pudding will still firm up somewhat in the fridge, but make sure that it is thick enough now. Let the pudding cool at room temperature for 15 minutes, stirring from time to time, and then cover the top with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge until cold. Can be made 3 days in advanced.

Makes 3 cups. Serves 4.

16 Comments

  1. Posted April 1, 2007 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

    Michel Richard appears in my new film Monet’s Palate with Meryl Streep. Alice Waters, Daniel Boulud..among others. Chef Richard is a delight in the kitchen and a wonderful Chef – Aileen Bordman

  2. Posted May 8, 2011 at 10:10 am | Permalink

    Chocolate in a microwave and still delicious? I agree that is a miracle. I have to taste this one. Thanks

  3. Posted December 19, 2012 at 11:31 pm | Permalink

    After I originally commented I clicked the
    -Notify me when new comments are added-

    checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment.

    Is there any manner you’ll be able to remove me

    from that service? Thanks!

  4. Posted December 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm | Permalink

    Hey very cool site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your

    website and take the feeds also…I’m happy to find numerous useful

    info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for

    sharing. . . . . .

  5. Posted December 26, 2012 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    you’re in reality a excellent webmaster. The website loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you

    are doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a fantastic
    process in this topic!

  6. Posted December 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm | Permalink

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog

    and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I’ll learn lots of new
    stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  7. Posted December 27, 2012 at 8:11 am | Permalink

    I used to be very pleased to seek out this net-site.
    I needed to thanks in your time for this wonderful read!
    ! I definitely enjoying every

    little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  8. Posted December 28, 2012 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    Good day very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .
    . I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds

    also…I’m satisfied to find a lot of

    helpful information here in the post, we’d

    like develop extra strategies in this regard, thanks for

    sharing. . . . . .

  9. Posted December 30, 2012 at 6:33 pm | Permalink

    Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be

    okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  10. Posted March 26, 2013 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It

    really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to

    provide something again and help others such as you
    helped me.

  11. Posted March 29, 2013 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

    Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from

    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Appreciate it

  12. Posted April 9, 2013 at 6:27 am | Permalink

    Thanks , I’ve just been searching for information about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered till now.
    But, what about the

    conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

  13. Posted April 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    I precisely needed to appreciate you once again. I do not know the

    things I might have taken care of without the type of tactics contributed by you concerning

    my field.

    It had been an absolute traumatic

    crisis in my position, nevertheless viewing a new specialized mode you handled that

    forced me to jump for delight. I’m just thankful for your assistance and

    in addition have high hopes

    you are aware of an amazing job

    your are undertaking educating other individuals all through your web site. More than likely you haven’t met all of

    us.

  14. Posted April 24, 2013 at 1:34 pm | Permalink

    Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at

    your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening
    in Internet Explorer, it

    has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, excellent blog!

  15. Posted April 25, 2013 at 11:19 pm | Permalink

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I

    have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or

    advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish

    to read even more things about it!

  16. Posted April 27, 2013 at 3:56 am | Permalink

    I liked up to you’ll receive performed right here. The caricature is tasteful, your authored material

    stylish. however, you command get bought an nervousness

    over that you would like be delivering the following. sick undoubtedly come more before again

    since precisely the similar nearly very regularly inside of case you protect this hike.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

