Michael Pollan in San Diego

Michael Pollan, author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma and The Botany of Desire, will be in San Diego to give a lecture on Tuesday, June 12. I’ve just finished reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma, in which Pollan takes a hard look at four modern food chains, so as to ascertain what it is that Americans are really eating. The results are quite disturbing and made me happy that I rarely eat processed foods. The book has gotten a lot of press, for example in the New York Times and on NPR, and seems to be causing a stir in the food world.

The lecture is hosted by UCSD Extension’s Revelle Forum. Tickets are $35 and advanced registration is recommended. For more information, visit the Revelle Forum website.

2 Comments

  1. Laurel
    Posted May 17, 2007 at 12:38 pm | Permalink

    Ooh, I’m jealous.

    Not that any of your readers (besides me) live in RTP, but Carlo Petrini, founder of the slow food movement, is giving a talk at NC State at 7 next Wednesday. Admission is free.

  2. Posted May 17, 2007 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

    I need to read the book, I have read a lot of his articles and I really like what he has to say. I just got the new Barbara Kingsolver book, A Year of Food Life, and I am making my way through it, but this book, and the new one about the Farm Bill are next on the list.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

