More scoops

I know what you’re thinking. Oh here we go with the ice cream again. And that darn book, what was it, the Poop Scoop? She should just give up and send these love letters directly to this David Lebovitz guy and leave the rest of the internet out of it. I mean really. It’s kind of sad.

Ice creams and sorbets

But I can’t do that. I have to tell you. Because if I didn’t, you might not know just how great everything about The Perfect Scoop is. It deserves another post for itself. And little mentions in every other post I write this summer. And its own fan club. And special spot on the bookshelf. Or maybe a pedestal even. You get the idea.

Chopping pluots

Since my mother gave me her old ice cream maker and a copy of David’s book, I’ve been churning up a storm. Now that Henning is gone, I’ve got no real reason to just whip up a batch of mango sorbet or strawberry ice cream, so, looking for more excuses to make ice cream, I invited some girls from the math department over for a little ice cream social. I made six flavors from David’s book: vanilla, chocolate, and coffee ice creams, cherry, plum-raspberry, and pluot sorbets. Oh my. I had quite a good time making all these. You know, since it doesn’t all make it from the machine into the storage container. And really, I had to make sure that each one was good, right?

Pluot and Plum-Raspberry

Well, they were all quite loved by my math girls. Here’s the low-down on ones not mentioned in my first post.

Cherry Sorbet – Absolutely decadent. So rich with ripe cherry flavor, and an amazing texture. Yum! Make sure to use very ripe and flavorful cherries. Your pitting efforts will be greatly rewarded.

Chocolate Ice Cream – Very rich and incredibly smooth. Good, but I don’t think it will be replacing my standard recipe, which has more chocolate and no cocoa powder.

Coffee Ice Cream – Intense coffee flavor, with a confusingly light color. Delicious. This one was the favorite of several guests at the social.

Plum-Raspberry Sorbet – Rivals the mango for my favorite sorbet. The texture of this one came out incredibly light and creamy. Plums and raspberries seem to be destined to be flavor partners. The raspberry flavor dominated, with the sweet-tart cooked plums in the background. Man, I need to go get a spoonful of this one. Right now.

Apricot Sorbet (made with pluots) – The pluots I had were incredible, so you can imagine how wonderful the sorbet was. It would probably be amazing with a touch of rosewater added.

2 Comments

  1. Posted July 21, 2007 at 3:59 am | Permalink

    So glad you’re enjoying the book!
    All that ice cream…so little time

    : )

  2. Posted July 26, 2007 at 7:37 am | Permalink

    Hey David, did I mention that I like your book?!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

