Brain food

This is the summer of research for me. If I want to graduate in a year, I really need to put my nose to the grindstone. I usually fuel my brain with plenty of lattes and tea, but there’s only so much caffeine a girl can drink in a day. When I’m looking for a refreshing snack to sip on as I work, I go for a mango lassi.

Mango Lassi

They are incredibly simple to make, and equally as delicious. Thick and frothy with sweet mango flavor, it’s no wonder that the mango lassi is one of the most popular drinks in its native India. On top of that, a mango lassi is healthy brain food, with protein and fruit sugar for a natural pick-me-up. Like a tropical smoothie, sans brainfreeze. They’re also great to round out an Indian meal, providing a cooling sweetness to counter the spicyness and giving a healthy balance to often-rich dishes.

Mango Lassi

2 ripe mangoes (for about 1 1/2 to 2 cups flesh)
1 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup milk
sugar or honey to taste

Remove the skin and pit from the mango using your preferred method. Put the mango flesh in a blender along with the yogurt and milk. Squeeze the pit over the blender to get all the juice and flesh from it that you can. Pulse to combine, and then blend on high speed until completely pureed. Now blend even more, rocking the blender back and forth a bit if you wish, until the mixture is thick and frothy. The key to a good lassi is thorough blending. Taste and add sugar or honey as desired, blending thoroughly afterwards. Pour into tall, narrow glasses and serve immediately.

Serves 2.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*